Himachal Pradesh
Legislative Assembly (12th Vidhan Sabha)
Details | eVidhan- Himachal Pradesh
Suresh Bhardwaj
Sh. Suresh Bhardwaj
Shimla -[63]- SHIMLA
Shimla Address :Set No.201, Pt. Jawahar Vidhayak Sadan, Shimla-171004
Permanent Address : Village Bhamnoli, P.O. Summerkot, Tehsil Rohru, District Shimla
Mobile Number :9418020347
Email :suresh.bhardwaj@nic.in
  • Son of late Shri Shardha Nand; born on March 15, 1952 at Shimla; B.Sc., LL.B.; educated at Govt. Higher Secondary School, Ghumarwin, D.A.V. College, Jalandhar, S.D.B. College, Shimla and Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla; married; two sons and one daughter; Advocate and Horticulturist.

    Actively involved in student movement during college days; National Secretary, ABVP, 1973-74; jailed on several occasions particularly during the Emergency, 1975-77; elected President, Law Students’ Association, H.P. University, Shimla; Convenor, Himachal Pradesh Loktantrik Morcha (an umbrella organization of youth and student leaders of Himachal Pradesh), 1977; President: Janata Yuva Morcha,1978-81, ii) Himachal Pradesh Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha (B.J.Y.M.); National Treasurer, B.J.Y.M., 1987-88; Secretary, Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party, 1982-83; Vice-President, B.J.P. Himachal Pradesh; and President, State Bharatiya Janata Party, 2003-06.

    President, Shimla Bar Association, ii) H.P.SAT Bar Association; Central Government’s Senior Standing Counsel in H.P. High Court, 2001-02; Member: State Transport Authority, 1979-80, ii) Executive Council, H.P.U., 1990-93, iii) State Grievances Committee, 1998-2002, iv) State High Powered Committee for Reviewing Land Reforms and Land Revenue Laws, 1998-2002; Director: State Cooperative Marketing Federation, Shimla, 1984-93, ii) H.P. State Cooperative Bank, Shimla 1990-92; Chairman, Super Bazaar Shimla, 1991-92.

    Elected to State Legislative Assembly in 1990; remained Chairman, Subordinate Legislation Committee, 1990-92, ii) H.P. State Govt. Committee on Expenditure Control and Resource Mobilization, 1991-93.Elected to Rajya Sabha in April 2002; Member Consultative Committee: Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, August 2002-February 2004, ii) Ministry of Power, Oct. 2004 iii) Sub Committee, Ministry of Agro and Rural Industries of Committee on Industry September, 2004; Member Committees of the Rajya Sabha: Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture, January 2003-February 2004, ii) Committee on Official Languages, iii) Committee on Public Accounts, iv)Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas and Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances ,law and Justice 2006 .

    Re-elected to State Assembly in December, 2007; remained Chairman, Human Development and Subordinate Legislation Committees and Member of Public Accounts Committee during 2008 - 2012; Chief Whip, Bhartiya Janata Legislature Party 2008--2012.;Panel of Chairman, H.P. Vidhan Sabha,2008-12. Elected to the State Legislative Assembly for the third time in December,2012 appointed Chief Whip, BJP Legislature party and also nominated to panel of Chairman of H.P. Vidhan Sabha.

    • Special Interest : Social service
    • Languages Known : Hindi, English.
    • Travels Abroad : As delegate Co-operators and Agriculturists, visited Germany, Holland U.K., U.S.A. and France and as a Member Parliament visited Pakistan to attend CPAConference in 2007 and was one of the resourceful member of the Conference.
    • Favourite Pastime : Reading.